Seriously?!

I am beginning to think that I’ve done something wrong.  Like, not an oopsie, “forgot to pick up milk at the grocery store!” but some serious cosmic error that has resulted in life taking a huge crap on me.

I wish I was kidding.

Last night, I met up with my good friends, Gina and Katy for coffee.  The three of us, along with two other girls, get together to meet and spend time together once or twice a month.  Sometimes, we have dinner and wine, sometimes we have appetizers, sometimes coffee.

And sometimes?  We have hit and runs.

I parked my silver 4Runner outside of Starbucks as one does when they are enjoying coffee inside.  I sat down with my peppermint hot chocolate, and was happily conversing with my girlfriends, when I saw someone trying to fit into the spot next to my car.  I didn’t think much of it because if you are anything like me, you’ve pulled a 239 point turn trying to park before, or pulled in or out a few times (that’s what she said!) while trying to parallel park.  SURELY, most people are decent human beings, and if they hit my car, they’d come in, right?

Wrong.  So, so, so wrong.

Two girls came FLYING into Starbucks and asked who had a 4Runner.  Um, that’s me!  One suggested calling 911 because the car was pulling out of the parking lot and it was possible we could get a plate.  My friend Katy, who is a badass, jumped in her car and tried to find them.  No dice.  Another witness approached and told us that he “pretended to write the plate number down.”

Did he know any of the plate numbers?  Nope.  HE WAS JUST PRETENDING.  Helpful.

Anyways, thank goodness that my car was barely damaged: a small dent on my bumper and some scraping of my headlight.  It’s not even worth my $500 deductible—it is mostly a very minor eyesore, a pain in the ass and generally just fits in with the apparent theme of 2009 which is Everybody Hates Amy.  Everyone who had seen or heard it said that it seemed awful, and the other car must have been damaged pretty badly.  That is my only hope: that their car is completely screwed.  These people have now replaced Pen Thief as NUMERO UNO on my Axis of Evil.

But in all honesty, I just wish life would cut me an effing break.  Serious family illness?  DOUBLE CHECK!  Difficult work situations?  CHECK!  Car window being broken/hit and run?  CHECK!  Friendship problems?  CHECK?  THINGS THAT SUCK SO MUCH I DON’T EVEN BLOG THEM? CHECK, CHECK, CHECK!

The past few months have included so much ugliness that everyday, I find myself just wishing, hoping, thinking, praying…maybe today will be okay.  Please don’t read this all serious and melancholy—I am aware that life is harder for others and that I should be grateful and there’s always a good side to everything going on.  I AM FINE.  I guess it’s just difficult to keep on the sunny side when every time you try and soak it up, things cloud up, if only for a few minutes.

Hopefully, today will be better.

19 Comments

Filed under life with titch

19 responses to “Seriously?!

  1. Oh girl, I am so so sorry. That blows.

    I have been in your same shoes – family illness, failed a class, life sliding downhill — and then I woke up to a flat tire on the day I was supposed to drive 3 hours to meet my mom at the hospital. Awesome.

    The one thing that I always try to tell myself is that God (whoever he is…) only gives us what we can handle. And we will handle it.

    Prayers that things get better… soon!

  2. Dang, Girl! Karma needs to give you a serious break!

  3. Meredith

    How terrible! If it makes you feel better (which it probably won’t, that phrase doesn’t really make sense, but whatevs) that happened to me once. Only it was at my sorority (those bitches.) How can you have a hit and run in a sorority house parking lot? Yay, sisterhood!

  4. Ughh that sucks!! Well things can only get better from here, right?

  5. You must have boiled and eaten puppies in your previous life.

  6. God, that sucks. It sucks because it’s in that sweet spot between wanting to do something about it and it not being enough to warrant paying the deductible. It also sucks because it’s just a plain ol’ pain in the ass.

    Hopefully things get better for you.

    What if the pen thief were the same person that hit your car?!?!?!?

  7. I’m sorry that you’ve been having such a difficult time lately! I can’t believe that someone would pull a hit and run on an obviously busy street with spectators.

  8. wordsofwinsome

    TODAY WILL BE BETTER. Period.

  9. That’s so hard! Sorry miss, good luck with everything- be kind to yourself. I swear, what a week for you.

  10. Living in San Francisco, hit and run stuff is waaaay to common. Our car is all banged up…but not from anything *we* did to it. More frustrating than I even have words for. GAH I so sympathize. Sorry that’s happening to you in addition to the other stuff you’ve had to bear 😦

  11. Ohh, honey. I’m sorry. Life’s lemons are bitter, bitter!!

    I’m sending you a big, slobbery, loving hug and kiss from Boston!

  12. Ugh. Yes, I know the feeling – like the world has suddenly decided to de-friend you. It sucks, but it’ll pass. Meanwhile, I’m here for you!

  13. Madeline

    AWWWWW AMY! I’m so sorry to hear that. Completely sucks. Why can’t people be decent human beings and take responsibility?! I had the same thing happen, except I was IN THE CAR when the drunk moron slammed his door and TOTALLY scratched the my passenger side door and mirror. Obv the boyfriend got pissed and gave him some words….the guy drove off, gave us the finger, like it was our fault….never got any info to find him.
    People are so lame.
    Sorry about life lately….. I got my third ticket a couple days ago….that I can’t go to school for. So three cheers to 3 points on my record! Yay, life! 😉

    It can ONLY get better from here! (((hugs)))

  14. Jaka Merriman

    That’s totally balls. I doubt that there’s any cosmic fuckups involved, though; sometimes things just happen. I’m glad you weren’t on the road when you got swiped and I’m sure they’ll get their karmic return. ❤

  15. I don’t hate Amy.

    But that guy who pretended to write the plate # down without considering that maybe he should actually REMEMBER THE PLATE NUMBER? That’s another story.

  16. Ari

    Who does that?!

    *HUGS* you need them

  17. i don’t like blogging about crappy stuff either. i getcha on the “check check checkity check check” front. life is lamesauce sometimes.

    also, i don’t hate amy. i think i might be growing to heart her. hee. just kidding. love. i mean love. : )

Leave a Reply

