Ewww.

So yesterday, we were supposed to have dinner with my family, as we often do on Sundays.  Unfortunately, my dad is not feeling well.  He finished round 1 of chemo, and was having some difficult side effects.  My mom left me a voicemail to let me know that dinner would probably be canceled, and I’ll admit it: I cried.  I realize that many people see there family less often than I do, but I love my parents, and I love going home every weekend.  I was sad, and also frustrated that my poor dad has to endure such terrible symptoms, and that my mom has to play nurse.  It sucks.  Anyways, Andrew attempted to make me feel better via G-chat:

me: so, my dad is really, really sick
  we probably won’t go over tonight
  😦
  i have cryings
  i really miss my family

Andrew: aw.
  I’m sorry

 me: me too
  i just miss my mom and dad
 and i hate this, my poor dad.

Andrew: you want me to shave my goatee and pretend to be your dad? 

me: um, you’re creepy
  nope

Andrew:  that’s weird, nix that

me: super weird

Andrew: I didn’t say that 

me: could be the weirdest thing you’ve ever said
  blogging that 

Andrew:  lol. I just want to make you feel better.

Um, I don’t know that it made me feel better or just more scared that this is the person I share my life with.

16 Comments

Filed under life with titch

16 responses to “Ewww.

  1. ReinventingAmy

    awesome conversation!

    sorry to hear about your dad. Hope he feels better soon!

  2. wordsofwinsome

    Silver lining in all things, even goatees! Just said a prayer for your dad.

  3. Maria

    What an awesome man you have on your hands I am off to make Josh grow a big white beard and buddha belly so he can hold me like my daddy used to….I will refrain from calling him Papa Bear in bed though lol

  4. ohhayitskk

    hugs girl.

    and i love that he said that. exactly like something kyle would say. exactly.

  5. Bwah hah ha! Extra points for trying so hard, Andrew.

  6. Sorry about your dad! Those side effects are tough! It’s hard for the patient and hard for their loved ones because all they want to do is take their pain away and they can’t. 😦 Praying your dad starts feeling better soon!

    And, how sweet is Andrew? (Even if it did seem a little creepy…still super sweet!)

  7. Ari

    I’m so sorry!! I know how you feel – I talk to my grandparents at least once a week and my mom close to every other day – not to mention having random meals with them.

    Andrew’s so cute! You’re lucky to have him in your life

  8. awww, that’s cute of Andrew. Exactly the person you should spend your life with 🙂

    Sorry to hear about your dad – I’ll def keep him in my prayers.

  9. verybadcat

    Everyone is different, but they (whoever the hell they are) say that the first is the worst. For some reason, the first treatment hits harder than most subsequent treatments. Chemo is some nasty stuff. Thinking of you and your Dad, and wanting to remind you- it’s a long road, but there is an end. My Mom is almost done- just two more months, and we can’t wait.

    xoxo

  10. Dad

    Shave your goatee and pretend to be me? I’ll have you know that the gray stringy stuff hanging from my chin is a sorta goatee..

  11. I like your phrase, “I have cryings.” 🙂

  12. I’m so so sorry your dad is having horrible side effects. My mom had the worst side effects from chemo… my only tip is to start running through as many remedies as you can find.

    Most of them don’t work – but when you find one that does, it’s a lifesaver.

    Praying for your mom and dad (and you!) – this is such a hard time!

  13. I meant to email you yesterday. I’ve been thinking about your dad all week and hoping the bad stuff didn’t kick in at all… will be praying for him and for you to stay strong and be encouraged, and for everyone to be able to see progress.

    XOXO

  14. Haha, relationships are some of the best blog material!

    On a sidenote, I am keeping your dad in my thoughts and prayers and hope you can resume your family dinner nights soon!

  15. Hahahahaha!! And HORK!

  16. Umm, super creeps. And I love, LOVE that you said, “I have cryings.”

    I’m totally stealing that.

Leave a Reply

