I know, I know.

Listen, after I wrote before about my dental anxiety, a billion people wrote me to say, “I was scared, too!  It wasn’t so bad!” and “Go see Dr. ______________!  He’s really gentle!”

Here’s the deal, guys: I never, ever planned on visiting a dentist again.  Like, ever.  I hate the dentist.  Discussing going to the dentist makes me break out in a horrendously unattractive rash, and can even push me to the point of tears.  I hate it, and truth be told, I barely survived my last experience a few months ago.

But, I’ve had this pain.  Not normal pain.  The sort of tooth pain that makes me want to slit my wrists.  I sat on the couch and pulled my hair this morning, trying to distract from the pain, if only for a short while.  I don’t even want you to know how many ibuprofen I’ve taken in the past 5 days.

So, today, I bit the bullet and called a few places to see who might be able to help me in the semi-near future.  The first two places were a bust, but then I called an office that was SO DARN NICE.  They encouraged me to come in, get looked at, and at the very least, promised me some pain medication so that I might be able to sleep tonight, which would be a GIFT.  Best of all, she didn’t bat an eye when I told her I have severe dental anxiety, and right away said, “Oh, we can give you nitris or valium, or both.  No problem.”

I went in, and true to her word, they set me up on nitris for my exam and my x-ray.  Even better, she’s all, “Hey, want to watch something?” and then proceeded to put on ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT.  You really haven’t experienced the Bluth’s until you’ve seen them while high on nitris.  The rest of the exam went okay, though, I will be returning this week for a root canal which I’m not exactly stoked about.  But, I have some pain meds ’til I get that done.

All in all, I still hate the dentist, but hey—any dentist who recognizes the importance of calming me down and showing me hilarious television while inflicting severe pain on me is a WINNER.

Also, thanks to the pain meds, you can expect lots of blogs that read like they were written by this guy:

4 Comments

Filed under life with titch

4 responses to “I know, I know.

  1. barbetti

    I am SO with you there. I’ve had SIX different dentists in the last five years, never the same one twice. A couple dentists ago, the guy pushed me to tears, “oh man, your jaw is REALLY messed up, I don’t think I can continue your cleaning because you are in serious need of jaw reconstruction. It’s really bad!”

    WHAT.

    I was crying so much that my mom thought someone had died. I hate the dentist. We can suffer together.

  2. I hate, hate, hate the dentist! I haven’t been in over a year and specifically said no to dental insurance because of my hatred.

    And now I’m having jaw problems (I don’t know if a dentist could help me with this but it IS connected to my mouth so…) and you know, you just feel better about yourself after going to the dentist. And proud.

    And any dentist that lets me watch a TV show during an appointment? Wow. I’d definitely be back!

  3. I don’t hate the dentist nearly as much as you and every one of your commentators does, but it’s not my favorite thing in the world. That being said, where is this dentist now? Nitris AND Arrested Development? That sounds amazing on a level that I hadn’t even considered before. I know it sounds bad but hey, whatever! 🙂

  4. awmb

    oh honey… i totally understand. i went to the dentist for the first time in 4 years a couple weeks ago and found out that i had 8 cavities in my mouth and that i’d have to revisit 3 more times. i almost had a heart attack. severe dentist anxiety attack happened. but you know what? i went for my first of the 3 visits, and it really wasn’t bad after they drugged me up. you’ll be okay!!

Leave a Reply

