Because every Sunday needs a little bit of HUMILATION

A few years ago, I quasi-dated a guy who I’ll call J.  J was a really nice guy, and really had his life together: a lawyer, owned a house and a dog and all that jazz.  We hung out a few times and really hit it off, but then he dropped the whole, “It’s not you, it’s me” business and said, “I’m just not ready for something serious, and if I was, you’d be the girl I’d want it with, blah blah blah” deal.  True to his word, he didn’t date anyone else (and if I’m being fair, was really, really emotionally distressed and kind of strange) and called me to hang out a few times; however, Andrew and I were dating and it just didn’t seem right.  Once he saw that Andrew and I were together (via the all powerful Facebook) he deleted me, and I haven’t heard from him since last year.  He was a cool guy—really smart, and I always felt a bit intimidated by him.

Anyways, today has been spent in front of my sewing machine (a whole different post—coming soon!) but midway through the day, I decided to head to Wal-Mart to get some fabric to play with for a new pattern.  I was in sweats, and a crappy tank top, so I threw my hair up in pigtails and tossed a cardigan on.  Definitely not the cutest look in the world, but since I was just going to Wal-Mart for something quick, I figured it wasn’t a big deal.

As I was driving, Miley Cyrus’ new-ish song, “Party In The USA” came on, and as I am wont to do, I turned it up, and perhaps, I was doing as Miley says and nodding my head like yeahhhh, moving my hips like yeahhhh in my car.  Suddenly, I feel someone watching me, so I do a slow turn.  You probably know right where this is going, right?!

There sits J, in his nice Audi, with some girl dressed to the nines.  They are both watching me, J throws up a little wave and then they sped away, OBVIOUSLY LAUGHING HYSTERICALLY.

Ah, yes.  Happy Sunday to me.

15 Comments

Filed under life with titch

15 responses to “Because every Sunday needs a little bit of HUMILATION

  1. Sam

    Oh dear. Or, as the kids say, OMG! This is the perfect blog story…and I am so glad to hear you say you like that Miley Cyrus song. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine, too.

  2. I definitely nod my head like yeah and move my hips like yeah in my car too. You are not alone.

  3. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Because every Sunday needs a little bit of HUMILATION « Just A Titch [justatitch.com] on Topsy.com

  4. ReinventingAmy

    he sounds like an ass.

    and um- that song? love it. 🙂

  5. ohhayitskk

    that’s amazing.

    also – i’ve totally been struggling with figuring out how to go about moving my hips like “yeah”

  6. Oh wow. That kind of sucks. But you’re happy now, and that’s what counts, right?

  7. I’m totally going to start calling you Miley.

  8. awmb

    Boo urns. Why does that always have to happen at the most embarrassing moment? Miley Cyrus…. ugh.

  9. that is a great song. and anyone who says they don’t shake their hips like yeah is a LIAR. 😉

  10. I’m sure they were just jealous. He wouldn’t be able to pull off that look.

    And um, FINALLY listened to that song today. Catchy!

  11. Girl, he did not deserve the clippings off your pinkie toenail, much less the rest of you. Screw him!

  12. Dressed up to the nines? Sounds like you were having way more fun, which is what Sunday is for, right?

  13. That song is so addictive. How can you be blamed for dancing to it in your car?!?!? 🙂

  14. Ari

    Dude! That happens to me all the time – except I add car dancing to routine. So I get caught by people as I’m in the midst of a full-blown “sprinkler” get down.

    Yeah. Good times.

Leave a Reply

