A decidedly more lady-like post…

OK, so sorry to discuss my sinus issues earlier.  It should be noted that 1) I have a cold-allergy deal that’s making me a bit stuffy.  2)  No children were hit/harmed by the grossness. 

That being said, Hannah posted a lovely fall meme that had such original questions, I thought I might do it here.  Too bad here in California, it’s hot as blazes for the first day of fall—supposedly going to reach 100 degress today.

BOO.

It’s not fall until the trees in Downtown Sacramento are red-orange and lovely, I can wear tights with dresses and I bake something pumpkin-spicy. 

Kelly Preston’s character in the movie For Love of the Game expresses her need to escape NYC because “Summer’s almost over, and I feel like I missed it.” What do you need to do in the waning days of summer for it to feel complete?   Spend those last summer nights outside, wandering and drinking wine or coffee on the patio of a restaurant. 

The person I know is wrong for me but about whom I frequently think after a break-up is engaged to someone else. 

The US Tennis Open, one of four Grand Slam events in that sport, is currently in the quarterfinal round. If you could only attend one major sporting event what would it be? A World Series involving the Giants.

Assuming that you write an anonymous or partially anonymous blog, by what non-physically identifying characteristics might you be identified in a bar?   I have ridiculously curly hair, that I’ve discussed before.  I am barely 5″1.  I am the loudest sneezer you’ll ever hear, and I’ve been told that I have a definitive laugh.

Most blogs cover some sort of niche – personal, political, dating, culinary, etc. What topic, if any, would you like to address on your blog but doesn’t fit into your niche? I would wax on about education policy and classroom matters.  Alas, very few people find reading strategies and discipline techniques helpful.

If you could manipulate the time space continuum and give as many as three pieces of advice to a younger version of yourself, what advice would you give and to what age of you?  17 year old Amy: The opinion of these people matters so little, and you will be so much BIGGER than this.  Just walk away now, and stop wasting your time.  21 year old Amy: It’s going to be okay.  Promise.  24 year old Amy:  You’ve come so far—don’t waste it.

How high are your walls?  Who was the last person to scale them? What tools should would-be climbers have on their belt? I’m working on knocking them down lower and lower—you miss the view if you don’t learn to let go and let others in.  For climbers, I suggest a listening ear, an empathetic heart and big arms for hugging.  And above all: patience and the ability to know when you’ve climbed too far too fast.

The sexiest thing a man can say to you (or has said to you) is not necessarily words, but actions: laugh at my jokes, read my writing, make me feel like a woman, listen to my worries, hold me close and show me that I take a place in your heart and your world that no one else can.  Telling me I’m pretty doesn’t hurt either.

8 Comments

Filed under life with titch

8 responses to “A decidedly more lady-like post…

  1. My mother is the loudest sneezer of anyone I know. Many years ago, we were at church one Sunday morning and were rather close to the back of the church (late arrivals..) and she sneezed. The priest, up at the alter, said “bless you.” It was mid-reading, so it wasn’t as if it was part of his sermon or anything 🙂

  2. fun meme. I actually had to read the questions! (so many memes have lame questions that you can tell what it was just by the answer: ie, BLUE…. or… JUST MY SOCKS… etc.

  3. Ooh…can I steal this? Because I really want to do it! Interesting questions!

  4. This is a lovely post! I love when I find meme’s that are a wee bit more unique and personal. This one is something I may have to do myself…hmmm…

    Oh, and my favorite one was your advice to the younger version of yourself. Just perfect. (I often wonder about what I’d say to myself, were I to go back…would be quite nice, actually.)

  5. kel

    I’m sorry, the teacher in can’t ignore the fact that the question above asked for non-physically identifying characteristics. You listed physical stuff, you need personality stuff.

    I demand you fix it now.

    Love, The girl who you’d know was Kel in a bar because she was the biggest bitch there.

  6. Pingback: The Fall Meme – My Answers « The Restaurant Refugee

  7. Ahhh, lovely. “You miss the view if you don’t learn to let go and let others in.” I am trying to remember this myself these days.

  8. Ooh, I love this. I borrowed it for my own blog! Hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

