Books!

I shamelessly stole this from Just A Small Town Girl.  I love books AND surveys!  Win-win!  Since I’m an English teacher, this seems perfectly appropriate…here are a few answers about me and my books.

The book that’s been on your shelves the longest…

I am not sure, but I *think* it’s my copy of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day. I still love that book.  So much.

A book that reminds you of a specific person, place or time.

I have a little, tiny book called Whereyouwanttogo and Other Unlikely Tales that my friend Jamile gave me.  I was her assistant counselor at camp and she read one of the stories out loud to the kids, and I LOVED IT.  A few months after camp, I got a package with the book in it.  Jamile (I’m pretty sure you’re reading!) may not know this, but it’s sat on my desk ever since, a tiny reminder of the good old days of camp, and of a friendship that was so vital during my formative years.

A book you treasure the most.

Um, as odd as it is, I used to always read The Omnivore’s Dilemma when we’d go to Jamba Juice.  One day, when we were starting to get serious, Andrew brought it home for me as a surprise.  It reminds me of a time when he showed his love and the fact that he was paying attention.

The newest book you’ve added to your shelves

Andrew and I have a little Friday tradition of bringing home a treat for the other.  Last week?  He brought me Drown by Junot Diaz.

Your current read, the last book you read, and what you’ll read next.

Finishing up The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Picture of Dorian Gray.  The last book I read was a re-read of Donald Miller’s Blue Like Jazz. Don’t hit me, but I’ve never read Pride and Prejudice.  That’s next up.

How about you?  What’s on your shelf right now?

10 Comments

Filed under life with titch

10 responses to “Books!

  1. Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book of all time. It is a classic for a reason.

  2. I just finished White Teeth by Zadie Smith (she also wrote On Beauty. Both are phenomenal) and I’m currently reading Sex Lives of Cannibals, which I’m LOVING!

  3. “Pride and Prejudice” is soooo good. You’ll love it. Speaking of classics, have you ever read “The Age of Innocence” by Edith Wharton? I adore that book. Have read it at least three or four times.

    I’m currently hopping back and forth between “Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community and War” by Nathaniel Philbrick and “FDR” by Jane Edward Smith. Both really, really interesting. I overdid it on fiction this summer, so I’m doing nonfiction for a little while, if you can’t tell. 🙂

  4. Gina

    Currently reading three different books…

    Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold). To prep myself properly for the movie!
    Hard Laughter (Anne Lamott). Need I say more…
    The Female Brain (Dr. Louann Brizendine). A SUPER educational book helping me understand exactly WHY I’m from Venus!

  5. I really hope you enjoy Pride and Prejudice, it’s a great book. I seem to have been reading mostly non-fiction books recently so I think my next reads will be novels. I’m thinking about The Time Traveller’s Wife perhaps (I haven’t seen the film yet!)

  6. I’m currently reading Midwives by Chris Bohjalian for my book club. It’s great so far!

  7. Caitlin

    I am currently reading through Oprah’s Book Club list and I have not read Pride and Prejudice either! I have my own copy but ruined it by seeing the movie first and you can’t really recover from that.

  8. Mighty Mouse

    Aww, you gave me a shout out and I’m touched that you still have that!

  9. Aw, I love your Friday tradition 🙂

  10. hello 🙂 we have something in common that if i’m not too lazy to email or converse more privately i’d have to tell you! i’m not allowed to blog about it as it has more to do with my bf.

    anyway that’s not why i’m commenting. i just found your blog maybe an hour ago and have been reading straight through.

    i might have to steal this survey 🙂

    and lastly, picture of dorian gray is one of my favorite books.

Leave a Reply

