Things I don’t understand, Part 1,000

Okay, so maybe I don’t get some things.  But seriously?!  Pop culture baffles the hell out of me.  Here are current things I just don’t understand the appeal of:

Kitschy, weird, “kooky” cutesy stuff. When Leslie and I visited the Renegade Craft Fair in SF this past summer, we noticed an abundance of cupcake stuff, which is cute—I get it.  But the weird stuff that says things like, “I like to eat cupcakes while I poo” or “I bite people like cupcakes” or “RAWR!  Poo-cupcakes-biting-I’m-MEAN!” all stitched onto a tiny pink pillow?!  I just don’t get it.

ZOMBIES. I laughed really hard at Shaun of the Dead.  I’ve seen 28 Days later and I Am Legend (are those even zombie movies?!  I don’t even know!) but that entire genre of films confuses me.  I just don’t understand.

Vampires. I’ve read Twilight and I thought it was a great, easy-to-read love story.  But all of a sudden, the shows!  The books!  The movies!  AHHH!  I don’t understand it.

Pirates. Please read above, it’s the same thing as zombies and vampires.  But “Talk Like A Pirate Day” and pirate everything, and pirate clothes.  Maybe my big issue is that ever since I was a kid, I’ve known about zombies, vampires AND pirates.  What’s with the hype?!

T-shirts that say things like “HOTTIE” or “BABE”.  I know these have been around for a long time, but every single day, I see a grown woman wearing shirts like that.  And I’m sorry, I don’t get it.  If you are a “hottie” or a “babe” you shouldn’t have to advertise that fact.

ZOMG. Can someone tell me what the hell the “z” means?!  Thanks.

Please.  Take the comments to try and convince me of why I should like these, or why I am wrong for not.  I’m genuinely curious.

12 Comments

Filed under life with titch

12 responses to “Things I don’t understand, Part 1,000

  1. kel

    Wait. So you’re saying that if I wear a shirt that spells out Hottie it doesn’t necessarily make me hot? Dammit. Gouess I’ll take back those shirts I just bought that says “whore.”

  2. I agree with you on most of those except the vampire part. This is not a new phenomenon. Remember Interview With a Vampire? And Buffy? And Angel? ZOMG, I love vampires (had to throw that in, even though I have NO idea where the Z comes from…). And yet I refuse. REFUSE. To read Twilight. I read Stephenie Meyer’s other book, that is supposed to be more adult, called “The Host” and I about shot myself in the face because that woman has no business being published. She just happens to be Mormon, and the Mormon church? Has a shit ton of money to throw at people like her. Um…end rant. Anyway, check out either the Sookie Stackhouse books or the show TrueBlood which is based on those books. Then get back to me and tell me again how you feel about the vamps. 😉

  3. “I like to eat cupcakes while I poo”? really? who would buy that?!

    I love love love movies about zombies, vampires and pirates. The current Twilight hype is lost on me, but I love the old vampire movies. I can’t really explain the why, I just do.

    I believe the Z doesn’t really stand for anything. It just makes adds emphasis to the OMG…

  4. I’m with you on the vampire/zombie thing. I did love buffy and angel, but I grew out of it, so it fascinates me why these adult women fawn over the stuff. I also feel like when buffy and angel were out, that was it. The amount of stuff related to the genre has skyrocketed!

  5. Jenna

    I like vampire stories, but I’m not a nutter over them. It’s kind of fun, fantasy escapism when done right, and off the rails madness when done wrong. The Twilight books truly are terrible writing, and while I can’t speak for the books, the True Blood TV show is completely insane. I only watched the first season, and have read recaps of the second, but dear God, what a train wreck.

    What bothers me more than shirts that say “hottie” and the like are women who wear pants with words on the ass. WTF? Who on earth thought this was a good idea, and why did people buy into it?!

  6. Two words: “True Blood.” (Well, maybe four words if I added Alan Ball in there, too.) It’s a freaking awesome show. Taking it at face value, i.e., pure entertainment and eye-candy, of course.

  7. Katy

    I fully perplexed by the vampire phenomenon as well. A little bit too much all at once if you ask me.

    Another thing I don’t get… what the heck does “rom-com” mean?? I’ve been reading it everywhere lately, and I CANNOT figure it out. Help.

  8. Gina

    Renaissance Festivals…. don’t get ’em. Why would you want to wear velour in 95 degree weather?

  9. Caitlin

    Like most internet phenomenons, the z in zomg was a typo and has stuck ever since. A lot of these little sayings originate from computer gaming where people say “I owned you” and then someone misspelled it as pown and then pwn and now people just say pwnd. The fast typing while trying to keep up with game play and real time chatting with the added bonus of ill-experienced young’ins makes for many a grammatical error that is glorified in lolcats and icanhascheeseburger.

  10. I haven’t read any of the Twilight books nor do I intend to. Aside from crazy 15-year-olds girls, I haven’t heard anything good from them. I’m not big into vampires AT ALL. I don’t get the craze, either!

    And thanks, Caitlin, for clearing all this up! I never got the word “pwn” either! Now I know!

  11. Mighty Mouse

    You know what I thought Twilight was badly written, like, really badly written. But I read all four books after I saw the movie and I’m just into it. I can’t explain it and I don’t relate to Bella at all and well, Rob Pattison is hot, so there’s that.

  12. Vampires, zombies and aliens are all OUT in my books. Pirates I’m ok with… wouldn’t put them on my top 10 list, but I don’t hate them. But the other three, no way. When I heard about all that twilight buzz I was like ‘hey, sure, I’ll check it out’. Picked up the book at the bookstore, the word ‘vampire’ caught my eye, and I walked straight out. And now I gotta see that guy from the movie everywhere I look, and I don’t get that either, he’s scrawny and looks about 8. Not hot, not at all.

Leave a Reply

