The one where I seriously beg for your prayers/good wishes.

I know that we usually keep things light around these parts, but this post is a bit serious and not funny at all.

On Friday, I got two of the worst pieces of news I’ve ever received, EVER.

First of all, my dad was diagnosed with skin cancer on Friday. As I’ve shared before, my dad and I are incredibly, incredibly close. At this point, we’re in a bit of a holding pattern. Tomorrow, he’ll go in for a CAT scan, in which they’ll determine if it’s spread. While what he has is a slower-moving, not-as-scary type of cancer, it’s still cancer, and this particular patch of skin has been there for quite some time without being checked. There are concerns of whether or not it’s spread, particularly to his lungs. We should have some more results soon, but until that point, it’s almost scarier: we don’t have a plan, we don’t know what’s going on, and we don’t know how to help.

At this point, my mom, brother, dad and I are just trying to stay strong and positive. I can’t go to the “bad place”—it is so scary to imagine what could happen next, or what could unfold over the next few months. My family is incredibly close-knit, something I’m so grateful for. The four of us have dealt with tough times before, but this seems so big and so scary. All of us are trying to keep upbeat, but I know that there are moments when I dissolve into tears, and I know the rest of them are experiencing the same thing. It’s just so scary.

Secondly, my mom’s mom, my grandma Carol, is in the hospital with E. Coli and colitis. While neither of those things sound particularly daunting, she is not doing well. There are concerns about her kidneys, she is incoherent and it’s touch and go. My grandma is another person I am incredibly close to, and is one of the biggest supports in my life. Things are not looking good, and we are hoping and praying she starts to show signs of improvement soon, as this is life-threatening at this point. She is another person I can’t imagine my life without, and this feels like a sick joke.

My step-grandmother, Nancy, was also diagnosed with breast cancer last week, and we are in the process of figuring out how serious her illness is, and what her course of treatment is. Though she is far away in Arizona, we were already worried, concerned and scared for her.

So, blog friends. I am so serious. If you are a prayer, a wisher, a lighter of candles, a good vibes person…WHATEVER, would you do me the favor of remembering my family? My brother and I need my daddy and my grandma; my mom needs her husband and her mom. My words don’t do the value of these people in my life justice…I literally cannot imagine my life without them in it. I beg you: please, please, please, please, please. We are hoping and praying for strength for my dad and grandmothers, wisdom for the doctors treating them, and strength for those of us trying to be helpful and strong along the way.

I would be so grateful—this community offers so much support, and I would be so thankful for any good things you could send our way.

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

13 Comments

Filed under life with titch

13 responses to “The one where I seriously beg for your prayers/good wishes.

  1. What an incredibly difficult week. Of course you are in my good and hopeful thoughts. Take care of yourself.

  2. Thinking good thoughts and sending positive vibes. Also, make sure you take care of yourself.

  3. I am so sorry for all the tough breaks.. I am keeping your family in my prayers.

  4. Oh Amy, I am so so so sorry. You and your family are definitely in my prayers. :big hugs:

  5. amy

    You and your family are in my thoughts.

  6. You are MOST definitely in my thoughts and prayers!!! Sending good vibes your way!

  7. Praying up a storm for you over here, and I will continue to do so every day. Love and good wishes to your family.

  8. Praying like crazy and sending good vibes. Take care hun.

  9. ohhayitskk

    oh girl, i’m so sorry. i’m sending love and good vibes your way. keep us updated.

  10. CHi

    oh amy! i’m so sorry to hear all of this at once! i have definitely been keeping you and your family in my prayers…

  11. Sam

    Oh, Amy! This is SO MUCH to deal with, I know. I will pray for each one (and if you email me their names, that would help, too – I think praying for someone by name is so powerful) and also pray for YOUR strength and spirit.

  12. You definitely get a prayer and a wish from me. I’m hoping that things get better very quickly for you.

  13. Juley Robarge Woods

    Amy,
    I am so sorry you are having to deal with these things. I can imagine how this news is impacting your every waking minute, and probably while you sleep too.
    Know that you are loved, as well as your family, and my thoughts are with you guys.

Leave a Reply

