Answers and Media Snobs

First of all, thank you for all of your sweet responses to my exercise in humiliation vlog yesterday.  I was super worried and nervous and sure I was going to look like a total idiot.  Which I think I did, but thanks for tolerating me.  And saying nice, sweet things.

A few of you have asked me a couple questions lately and I have been a bit remiss in answering.  First of all, my wallet from this post (okay, my wallet all the time, but my wallet shown in that post) is from Target.  As is much of my wardrobe.  Don’t judge me.  But yes, Target wallets are the best.  They also make that style in pink, blue and brown (I think).  Also, it was $10.  Boo-yah.  And my necklace shown in my vlog was purchased at Aldo nearly five years ago.  It’s simply a long strand of turquoise beads…but I love it, and wear it often.  Probably too often, but whatevs.  I love it.  Again: don’t judge me.

Speaking of judging, can I just rant for a moment about some of the many people who piss me off?  We’ve all met these people: media snobs.  This was brought to mind yesterday, when an acquaintance discovered I was reading The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz.  A book, that for the record, has been on the NY Times Bestseller list, had it’s author featured in the Times’ Paper Cuts Blog and won an effing Pulitzer.  Anyways, this person seemed stunned that I’d heard of it, let alone had waited for a copy to come into the library for several weeks, after hearing from a good friend that I’d like it.

Her attitude was basically that suddenly, the book had “lost it’s cool.”  Um, what?  It’s a book.  It’s been published.  It sells everywhere.  It’s been reviewed in a respected public forum.  Soooo, really?  All of a sudden it’s not okay for others to have access, or you want to be the only person who’s read it?  I find the same attitude with people when it comes to music.  Just because you listen to Sledgehammer 45 or whoever the hell, and they’re on the radio doesn’t make them suddenly “uncool.”  People who refuse to listen to bands because they’re well-known, or refuse to share music because they want it to stay small irritate the ever-loving crap out of me.  Don’t most authors and musicians start writing and playing because they WANT to be famous and make money?  Am I wrong here?  Does the music sound worse if I like it too?  Does the book suddenly lose it’s appeal if I enjoy it too?  I mean, really.  Also, PS: those of you who peruse MySpace and the like for undiscovered music, or who try and seek out the most intellectual-sounding books in order to sound like a smart hipster?  I wish you’d just get over it already.  The fact is that there are few people in the world who cannot enjoy an occasional Dave Matthews Band song or like to read US Weekly on the plane.

I guess what I’m trying to say is this: can’t we all just enjoy what we enjoy?  Isn’t the point of media and enjoying books and music to share it with others?!  I just don’t understand the snobbery; the attitude that if a book or band has been discovered, that it’s suddenly not cool.  It drives me nuts.

Like what you like, people.  Read what you want to read.  And if it’s good?  SHARE IT.

Um, END SOAPBOX.

8 Comments

Filed under life with titch

8 responses to “Answers and Media Snobs

  1. I love discovering new things…but they just have to be new to me, not to the general population . If a book is good, I want to read it, even if everyone else has already!

  2. Amen! Sister friend! I couldn’t have said it better!

  3. L.O.V.E The Target! And I second your snob stance! I consider myself pretty eclectic, but I still listen to Top 40 radio to my little brother’s (and many of the hipster men I date) dismay. I’ve also been known to mix 99 cent shadow with couture mascara. And I LOVE IT!

  4. Heehee! You make me laugh.

    One of my favorite things is when I find some obscure artist or band that I really like but no one has heard of them, and then weeks, months, years later I hear them on the radio or at a party or in a bar or something like that and I think “Yay! They’ve made it!”

    This world needs more music. Share it, please.

  5. I have a friend that is quite the fashionista and about 80% of the time she has something on that she got at Target. Sadly, I can’t ever seem to find something I like for myself at the store. Weird.

    As far as media snobs…you’re right on point. If something great isn’t shared, then what good is it?

  6. OGOD I know. My husband used to be like that when we were first dating, but I was like, “dude, seriously.” and he let go of the habit. At least around me 😛

  7. Dude, TOTALLY! People like that make me frigging homicidal.

  8. I agree totally with you on that last part. People that do that with music in particular bother me.

Leave a Reply

