They say it’s your birthday…

Today’s my Dad’s birthday!

I don’t even know how to start a post about my Dad, other than to say that he’s the best dad ever. Seriously! My Dad is one of my favorite people, and I feel so lucky to have him has a father.

My dad has always believed in me. As a kid, I expressed an interest in space, and he encouraged that interest. He always told me I could be whatever I wanted to be—an astronaut or otherwise. Even though I had to put off my dreams of space once I realized people vomited all the time when in the spaceship and I had to do math to do aeronautics, my dad encouraged me to do whatever I wanted to do. He’s been one of my biggest supporters through school, teaching and everything else I’ve ever done.

My dad has so much to do with the things I love. When I was little, he played all sorts of music for me, and taught me all about different bands and musicians. As a child, one of my fondest memories was driving in the car with him, counting the train cars we’d pass on our way to preschool and rocking out to “Twist and Shout” by the Beatles and “La Bamba” by Ricky Valens. As I got older, he exposed me to more of The Beatles, The Eagles, and Bob Dylan, all three of whom remain some of my favorite bands. We both love reading and computer stuff and laughing.

I think the biggest thing about my dad and I is how similar we are. We look freakishly alike—there’s no mistaking the fact that we’re related when people see us together. We see the world very similarly, and because of that, I can almost always count on my dad to understand what I’m thinking, whether I express it or not. My dad has a hilarious sense of humor, and we almost always laugh at the same things.

I really, really treasure my relationship with my dad. He “gets me”, he makes me laugh, and I’ve never, ever doubted that he loves me deeply. I can always count on him to make things better, to encourage me and to make me laugh.

I love you, Dad! Happy, happy birthday!

2 Comments

Filed under life with titch

2 responses to “They say it’s your birthday…

  1. Amy,
    Thanks for the sweet remembrance. I forgot about counting train cars! My favorite memories of you are probably not something I would think anyone would be interested in reading about – because most of those favorite memories are just our everyday life.

    We do tend to view life through similar lenses… and we definitely look so much alike (though my goatee is much grayer than yours 😉 I’m so happy you are my daughter, and I’m your dad…

    Love you…

    Dad

  2. Pingback: The one where I seriously beg for your prayers/good wishes. « Just A Titch

Leave a Reply

