Away We Go

away

It’s rare that I walk out of a film feeling like a different person, like I learned something or was changed by what happened on the screen. I felt it the first time I watched Before Sunrise and Before Sunset, and after seeing American Beauty and Garden State. That’s it. But yesterday, among the rain and icky weather, we journeyed out to see Away We Go and it was incredible.

I don’t want to give away the plot, but the basic gist is that a couple gets pregnant and then spends the movie traveling, trying to find the perfect place to raise their young family. John Krasinski, Jim Halpert of “The Office” and Maya Rudolph are so perfect together. Their chemistry was so great on-screen that it seemed like they really liked one another. They were both charming and easy to love and there were times in this film that I was laughing so hard my stomach hurt. The supporting roles were amazing, too and showcased great people, who were also hilarious and heartbreaking at the same time.

I think what I liked best about this film was the range of emotions, and the reality it depicted. I felt like I’d met people who closely resembled nearly every character. The storylines felt so believable, and I’m not ashamed to admit that there were so many poignant moments that I found myself crying throughout much of the film; even if things weren’t sad, it was easy to see the genuine human emotions present in each scene.

The other thing that made this movie a big win in my opinion was the soundtrack. I am a total sucker for movies with soundtracks that enhance the film, a la Garden State, and this one did just that. I downloaded the soundtrack immediately after getting home because I just wanted to listen to it and feel it all over again.

I realize that this review makes me sound like some touchy-feely weirdo, but I seriously can’t say enough about how much I LOVED THIS MOVIE.

Go see it. You won’t be sorry.

2 Comments

Filed under life with titch

2 responses to “Away We Go

  1. Huh. I totally figured it was a Netflixer… I just can’t see the two of them together. But I love you, so I’ll give it a shot 😉

  2. Oh! Good to know! I loved those flicks too, so I’ll trust your review. And I’m glad to know I’m not the only soundtrack junkie out there. I’ve taken a lot of heat from my music-snob family and friends for this addiction. In my next life, I will totally be a soundtrack producer.

Leave a Reply

