Whose Wal-Mart Is It? It’s My Wal-Mart!

Good morning, gentle readers! I hope you had a lovely weekend! I certainly did; however, last night, my face was assaulted by a crazy case of summer acne. You see, in my hometown, summer is normally scorching hot. We’ll avoided the heat until this weekend, when it finally hit over 100 degrees. This marked a special annual even in my life: The Heat Induced Summer Breakout. My skin is by no means creamy and lovely, but it’s usually pretty decent. Until summer hits. All of the sweating and dryness and general ick really catches up with it, causing my skin to FREAK OUT and break out.

Of course, this timing coincides perfectly with Andrew and I’s big trip to Illinois to visit his family. When I was there at Christmas, we didn’t see too many of his friends, due to holiday craziness, but this time? We’ve got lots planned. I’m sure they’ll find Andrew incredibly charitable for dating a chubby girl whose hair is guaranteed to frizz to high heavens due to the humidity and the raging cystic acne. I’ve been coating my zits in tea tree oil and I’m pretty sure I’ve purchased every anti-frizz product on earth, so here’s hoping my hair doesn’t freak out too badly, and my skin decides to behave.

Anyways, in preparation for my trip tomorrow, I had to head to Wal-Mart to pick up a few things. Yeah, I know, Target is better but I love Wal-Mart’s antihistamines and my ears have a terrible time flying and that’s the magic cure. Also, I’ll be real: my bra broke this morning, and I needed a cheap new, nude colored one. Let’s also be honest about the fact that a new bra is pretty much the best thing in the world. Hurrah support! Anyways, I also decided to pick up some of those little sock things that you can wear with ballet flats and whatnot to avoid the stank that is closed toed shoes worn barefoot. Don’t act like you don’t know what I mean. I was horrified to find that now, in addition to the traditional “sockie” (as I call them) they carry these little gems:

footthong

Just in case you’re wearing flip flops and want something else between your toes and want to wear socks with your backless sandals, Wal-Mart can meet your needs! I mean, really: who wears these? WHO?

If you do, I’m sorry.

The other weird experience of the morning was the Wal-Mart cheer. You’ll understand the title of this post a lot more if you check out that link! I heard loud yelling coming from the back of the store, and found the majority of employees, gathered around, yelling a cheer. Apparently, this cheer is highly sacred among Wal-Mart employees and does a lot to drum up morale:

The amount of time spent looking for this video is ridiculous, so really, you should watch it. YOU’RE WELCOME.

I should probably continue packing now.

4 Comments

Filed under life with titch

4 responses to “Whose Wal-Mart Is It? It’s My Wal-Mart!

  1. Madeline

    A couple of things….
    What the HECK are they screaming on that video? Scary Wal-mart cult screams.
    And…when you are away, you BETTER still write in your blog or I will be very very sad.
    And third- I’m not just tooting my own horn and wanting your money, but I have tried LOTS of zit-preventing creams and the only one that has successfully worked for me is Mary Kay Acne cream…. I’m not sure what ingredients do and don’t work for you, but this is miracle cream for me!

  2. Melissa

    Lucky for you, the humidity went away today and it should be awesome weather for the rest of the week (which is rare, haha)…of course I am only speaking for Chicago, but I can’t imagine it will be much different where you will be. I like to use Fructis anti-humidity, otherwise my hair goes crazy :). Enjoy your trip!

  3. Manda

    Target is no better than wal-mart, and in my experience, Wal-mart treats its employees better and pays them more. We’re all being fed this idea that Target is super awesome and hip and sooo much better, but they’re just like Wal-mart with higher price tags and angrier employees. I avoid both.

  4. I work at Wal-Mart.

    And the “cheer” reminds me of a cult.

    I hate it. HATE IT. (Thankfully I work part-time nights so I don’t have to do it very often! Not that I actually do it. I barely clap my hands and I mouth along. Because I’m cool like that.)

    I once had a duty manager tell the group that “They do pay our wages. It’s the only time we get to cheer for them so we really should be doing it loudly and proudly,” (or something along those lines.) Uh, GET to cheer for them? What the effing heck? and two, it’s not like we sit around on our asses and they pay us – it’s called WORK. And the pay is 10 cents over the mimimum wage. THANKS.

Leave a Reply

