Titch’s Riches: Part One

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the stuff I choose to own, and particularly about the things that are of particular importance to me. I’ve been trying to get rid of things I don’t need, want or use any longer, and in the process, I’ve found things that really do mean something to me.

I’m going to showcase these items on my blog occasionally because I think they’re pretty, they’re important, and they give you a little bit more insight into how I operate.

Without further adieu:

DSCF1843

DSCF1845

I know that this isn’t the world’s fanciest glass, but these mean the world to me. Growing up, I visited my grandparents in Arizona every summer. These visits were the highlight of my summer, because their house was so different than mine. They lived in the desert, and their house backed up to a huge desert area. I spent my mornings feeding the quail and watching all of the animals that gathered outdoors. Scorching hot afternoons swimming, visiting the library, and laying on the floor of their office, writing and dreaming as they worked on their home business. I learned to type on their old Apple computer and my grandparents fully supported my writing aspirations. My grandparents continue to be two of my favorite people on the planet—they are wise and interesting and have taught me so much.

One of the big treats I would have at their house was Black Cherry Vanilla frozen yogurt. I got a few tiny scoops, perfect for a little girl and they were always served in the glasses above. When my grandma was getting rid of these a few years ago, I snagged a few, because they’ll always remind me of those Arizona summers, when it was just me and my grandparents.

7 Comments

Filed under life with titch

7 responses to “Titch’s Riches: Part One

  1. Cute. I love stories like this.

  2. I have a lot of my Grandmother’s old cut glass and Fostoria. I have it under lock and key so my children don’t accidentally knock the cabinet over and breaking these items that mean so much to me.

  3. I love items like that that remind me of good times.

  4. Awww, I think we all do this. Last time I was home I walked around the house telling my mother which family photos I wanted copies of… I think as we get older and realize how precious our time together is, we start to hang on to the pieces we know will still be around after they’re gone.

  5. I also took my gradma’s icecream bowls when I moved out. They’ll always remind me of summers with my grandparents.

  6. i have these teeny little glasses with oranges on them … they were my from my granny’s and whenever i drink orange juice out of them i am transported back to her sunny kitchen 🙂

    i love your ice cream dish and the memory it evokes … xo

  7. Jenn

    I have the same glasses, and plates, and bowl and platters. They were my grandparents and I think the crystal is called Candlewick, atleast that’s what I remember. Anyway, I have recently acquired several pieces of this crystal and I will keep them forever, just because they belonged to my grandparents. I find I keep several things like this just because I am loathe to part with them, even if I never use or display them, I just need them close to me always. Sentimental fool I am! Good for you for keeping these great pieces and keeping the memories in tact.

Leave a Reply

