Spanish Rice

Several years ago, my dear friend Maria had me over for dinner, where she served amazing enchiladas and this incredible Spanish rice that her grandmother used to make. She passed the recipe on to me, and I make it at least once a week and serve it with ground turkey meat and taco seasoning, since we’re all diet-y and such at our house. I use brown rice and tons of veggies and it’s pretty much the most delicious thing ever. EVER. I promise.

Ingredients

1 cup brown rice
3 T olive oil
1/2 cup (or more—I usually use 1 cup or more) veggies such as onion, pepper, corn, etc. I recommend a combo of those 3.
1 can stewed tomatoes
lemon juice to taste
salt to taste
4 cups water (less if you use white rice)

Directions

Put olive oil and rice in the pan and brown on medium heat. Add chopped veggies and brown until veggies are tender. Add stewed tomatoes, water and salt. Add lemon juice to taste. Turn up to high heat until water boils, and cover. Since brown rice takes forever to cook, I usually let it boil the whole time until the liquid is soaked up.

Enjoy with whatever the heck sounds good—I recommend anything involving cheese, sour cream and margaritas.

3 Comments

Filed under life with titch

3 responses to “Spanish Rice

  1. Maria Talbot

    my grandma would be proud! 🙂 xo

  2. Peggy

    Love this recipe but love it more when you make it!!!

  3. Yum! Sounds tasty. I’ve been experimenting with homemade risotto, in an attempt to avoid as much pre-prepared/packaged stuff as possible, but it’s actually working out cheaper/tastier to the buy the boxed stuff. This looks excellent and failproof though, bookmarking to remind me later!

Leave a Reply

