Wreck This Journal

I’ve long been a fan of the AMAZING Keri Smith since I purchased her book Living Out Loud. She is wildly creative and exciting and truly has great suggestions for how to live a more creative life.

The thing is that I didn’t exactly do anything she suggested. Some of it is messy. Some of it is kind of strange, out of the ordinary, crazy. Oh, and imperfect.

I’m not sure how to put this, but I can be a little crazy. I like everything just so, especially when it comes to creative pursuits. I am the girl who lost her mind while painting pottery because it wasn’t perfect. I like routine, I like knowing what to expect. My days as a teacher are planned, standards aligned, thought out, organized.

To be honest, this book scares me a little bit. The description reads: “Warning: During the process of this book you will get dirty. You may find yourself covered in paint, or any other number of foreign substances. You will get wet. You may be asked to do things you question. You may grieve for the perfect state that you found the book in. You may begin to see creative destruction everywhere. You may begin to live more recklessly.”

Ummm, what?

That’s not really my deal. Ruin a book? This goes against all of my bibliophile, English teacher ways. Books are friends! We don’t bend them, wet them, write in them. EVER.

Needless to say, this book will hurl me out of my comfort zone. I’m anticipating it. Silly as it sounds, I need that. I have missed the creative side of me that seems to disappear when I am in teacher-mode. I’m kind of looking forward to getting dirty, to being creative and to trying something new.

If any of this sounds appealing to you, it’s not too late! Sign up with Jamie here.

I’ll be playing along here, showing you what I’m up to as I embark on something that may seem silly and small, but is going to hopefully get me re-started along a more creative path…

7 Comments

Filed under life with titch

7 responses to “Wreck This Journal

  1. Welcome to the adventure! Whenever resistance shows up and it gets unnerving, all you have to do is come back to this post, your first post of the journey, read your third-last paragraph for inspiration.

    And if you need more encouragement, I’ll come knock on your door and ask if your creativity can come out to play 🙂

  2. Here’s to making our comfort zones a little bit messier, a little bit more unpredictable and a whole lot more fun! 🙂

  3. You will probably have one of the wildest books out there, in the end. I am anticipating how different all of our books are gonna look because of all of our different approaches.
    Go hurl your book across the yard a couple of times, get the feel for being rebellious–this book won’t mind, as a matter of fact, it’s been waiting for just such a moment;)
    Peace~
    Dawn

  4. You are going to have so much fun. I’ve just started and am already looking at things somewhat differently.
    Wreck on. 🙂

  5. can’t wait to see how you “wreck” 🙂

  6. Little by little, I’m beginning to think differently as I study each page. Old habits are hard to break, but I’m sure we’re all going to get some great creative juices flowing!!

    Happy wrecking!

    Barb:-)

  7. Pingback: Wreck This Journal, Week 2 « Just A Titch

Leave a Reply

