Titch Reviews: Loving Frank

Since I read a lot, I’m hoping to do more of these book review style posts (in fact, I’ll have another coming up soon since I finishing Geek Love for Prose Hos, too), particularly over the summer when I can read things intended for people older than 14 and not in a huge brown Teacher Edition textbook.

When my book club selected Loving Frank, by Nancy Horan, for our book meeting in the month of May, I was not excited. I knew who Frank Lloyd Wright was; however, it seemed sort of lame to read a book about an architect. Woo! Anyways, I ordered it and reluctantly started in…and got hooked.

The book is actually very little about Frank Lloyd Wright himself, and more about Mamah Borthwick Cheney, a woman he had a relationship with. She is an incredibly strong woman who sacrifices herself to be with him, but ends up gaining a whole different idea of who she is and what it means to be in love. Her character is described (I think on the back of the book, as a matter of fact) as a sort of Everywoman, and as cliche and Freshman Year Lit Seminar as that description is, I find it to be accurate. Her story is incredibly compelling, and I think very relatable for most women. I don’t want to reveal too much; however, we spent a lot of time in our book group discussing what it means to be a woman, what it means to love someone and what we give up to be successful in love. It was a very emotional discussion at points, and an excellent one. Even if you read it on your own, I think it raises some excellent questions.

A tip: DO NOT GOOGLE HER IF YOU DO NOT WANT THE ENDING SPOILED. Just don’t do it.

Anyways, I’d give this book 5/5 stars or cupcakes or whatever it is you want to rate with. I really, really enjoyed it.

I know a few of you have read it: any suggestions, thoughts or feelings you want to share? Try not to spoil it, because I really think it’s worth reading…

1 Comment

Filed under life with titch

One response to “Titch Reviews: Loving Frank

  1. Christina

    I completely agree with what you said about the Everywoman concept in this book. Mamah is an amazing character, an amazing woman, strong and loving, independent and full of life, real life. I also think that the book brings Frank Lloyd Wright to life as a real person, much more than a genius architectural mind, but a man who loved, who made hard choices as well. Your 5 out of 5 rating is seconded here! And, on a side note, if the cupcake system invloves actual cupcakes, then I say that one gets my vote over stars, as I am not sure if stars are truly delicious, but cupcakes sure are! I digress, read Loving Frank! Great characters, great emotion, great story overall!

Leave a Reply

