Top 7 Best Pieces of Advice I’ve Ever Gotten…

1) Eat protein in the morning my adorable, loving, sweetheart of a boyfriend, Andrew

2) When your face is breaking out, change your pillowcase and get your hair away from your face!my mom, who I’m sure has given me even better advice than that

3) Everyone has their day in the sunshineMs. Hagel, my high school English teacher

4) Not everyone has to like you, and you don’t have to like everyonemy dad

5) Get to know your professors and teachers, so if you ever need help or have an emergency, you’re more than just “that student”Every book on college ever written, but they are so right!

6) When you’re really upset, ask yourself, will this matter in the light of eternity?Rob, from Rob, Arnie and Dawn. And yes, I know they’re lame and ANDREW JUST SHUT UP ALREADY! Also: I need to take this advice more often.

7) When in doubt, squat it out Me, when using any sort of restroom not in my own home or the home of someone I love.

Here’s the deal, friends: my 8th graders are rapidly approaching the end of the year. As part of their send off to the big world of high school, I am planning a little bit of a special day where I’ll give all 103 of them a handwritten note, blubber through reading Oh, The Places You’ll Go! and send them off with some good advice that they can use. So, I want to know: what’s the BEST advice you’ve ever gotten? What words of wisdom would you offer an exceptional group of 13-year-olds, who are embarking on the next phase of young adulthood? I want to know.

*This post was inspired by the lovely Holly of Nothing But Bonfires

9 Comments

Filed under life with titch

9 responses to “Top 7 Best Pieces of Advice I’ve Ever Gotten…

  1. Andrew

    Don’t eat yellow snow.

  2. while this may not be applicable to 8th graders who know the basic ‘rules of life’, some advice i received from a wise kiddo was: “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.”
    so, so simple (and rhyme-y) – but it comes in handy soemtimes…even for a grown-up like me. 🙂

  3. while this may not be applicable to mature 8th graders who know the basic ‘rules of life’, some advice i received from a wise kindergarten kiddo was: “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.”
    so, so simple (and rhyme-y) – but it comes in handy sometimes…even for a grown-up like me. 🙂

  4. I can’t think of anything useful sorry… but I am going to try number 2, never thought about that, but it makes so much sense! Of course it could mean changing my pillowcase every bloody day… but hey, if it works! I tell number 5 to anyone and everyone and I wish more people would take me up on it, because they don’t bother and then get themselves in crap and then are too scared to approach their lecturer for an extension or some extra help. Silly, because one of the main reasons I am such a successful student is because I get to know my lecturers.

  5. Gina Savage

    How about..

    Remember compassion. Not just the desire to recieve it, but the necessity to give it!

  6. Mighty Mouse

    You don’t have to be the smartest person to succeed. Usually it’s that individual who won’t give up and isn’t afraid to take a risk- you gotta be that person.

    I repeat this ad nauseum to the kids I work with.

  7. Jen

    “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss

    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

    Two pieces of priceless advice I’ve never forgotten!

  8. Christina

    My mom always says, “Always know the difference between being a shameless hussy and a harmless flirt.” Not the most conventional advice for 8th graders, but it might serve the girls well!

  9. Back again, I just read this post and thought of you. The tips here will help all of us and some of them are appropriate for your class too 🙂
    http://rachelcotterill.blogspot.com/2009/05/things-ive-learnt-from-my-friends.html

Leave a Reply

