The first time…

Wasn’t it cute how I posted about running the other day? And was all funny and sarcastic about how much I hate it? Guess what wasn’t cute?

I didn’t actually run. Nope. Not even a little bit.

That is until yesterday. I finally strapped on my shoes and hit the treadmill. I really, really wanted to run outdoors, but am currently being ravaged by the disgusting air here in the Sacramento area. I have never, ever had allergies in the 21 years I’ve lived here, but apparently this is my year. Hooray.

I have to admit that I have more motivation now to lose weight. My students will be doing their standardized testing next week, and as a reward, we always do a silly assembly to reward them. I was gone last year, but this year, I was “volun-told” that I’ll be participating. And I don’t mean like supervising or something. Apparently, we’ll be doing Teacher Idol and Teacher Dance Crews. And I’ve apparently been cast as a Kitty Cat Doll (think the Pussycat Dolls, sans the P-word so that the 8th grade boys can handle it) who is going to dance and lip sync. Oh, goodie. This may come as a shocker, but I’m super, super shy. I don’t enjoy doing things like that. But, since I want a job next year, I’m not gonna argue with my principal. Don’t worry, I’m sure the evidence will be on You Tube, because that’s how my students roll.

I think you should know that I have a major treadmill fear. One of my first experiences at the gym included a man behind me falling down on the treadmill and knocking himself out. Because I am superb at worrying about things, I of course assume that the same thing will happen to me. I am good at the walking, but running makes me scared. I literally had to give myself a little pep talk. I asked myself what the worst possible thing that could happen would be. I came up with this scenario where I fell and broke my leg and couldn’t work out for weeks or even months.

Obviously, I couldn’t get started fast enough once I realized I could potentially injure myself severely. In fact, I untied one of my shoelaces to help the process.

Alas, I did not fall. But I did make it through the entire workout successfully. I decided on using the fairly well-known, Couch To 5K plan to kick-start my running. Today’s workout was pretty simple, alternating jogging and walking. I actually found myself enjoying the interval structure.

But don’t you worry. There was the profuse sweating, the ginormous hair, the heavy breathing and the general grossness. Still, I felt so, so, so good when I was done. So good, in fact, that Andrew and I went out and had a delicious sushi dinner. It was delish.

4 Comments

Filed under life with titch

4 responses to “The first time…

  1. Thanks for the link Couch to 5K, something like that might make this whole running thing possible to start.

  2. kel

    I’m begging you to think of me when you need motivation (due to health, Dr. says I cannot do ANY aerobics or weight lifting for 6 weeks). You KNOW what a freak I am about working out, so rest assured that this is going to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

    If that doesn’t motivate you, think of my partially crippled sister (wrote about her accident on my blog), who still gets up at 4:30AM every morning to work out, despite the fact that she can’t run, can’t walk too far, and has limited movement in her back and hip. Do it for her!

  3. Gina Savage

    keep it up girl!! let me know when you want to hit up Fitness MD?! I went last night and sweat like crazy; but seriously had a good time.

    PS. I was paired with a girl who knew nothing — and my knowledge is about as minimal as an ant. But we both got through it and I think we both dead weight 50 pounds, our bodies can handle way more then we give it credit for….

  4. Mighty Mouse

    Good for you Amy! Way to get on that horse, but hey mix it up too, do non-running stuff that way you won’t utterly hate excercise, I mean, if that’s like, possible. 😉

Leave a Reply

