funny you should say that…

Internet, I have a confession to make. It’s hard for me to admit, mostly because this particular belief about myself is intrinsic to my self-esteem. It’s difficult for me to even type this entry because it saddens me greatly.

I think I’ve lost my ability to understand humor.

Let me explain. I grew up in a houseful of very funny people, with a sense of humor in tact. In fact, I have been told I’m “witty” and “hilarious” by more than one person who was not related to me or trying to date me. I’ve always understood jokes, told them well and laughed along with the crowd. That was until I failed to understand Internet humor. I blame Chuck Norris.

Awhile ago, this infatuation with Chuck Norris sprang up. I started seeing Chuck jokes everywhere. It seemed that everywhere I turned, the internet was LOLing about Chuck Norris’ insane abilities to eat dinner for breakfast or the fact that when the Boogeyman sleeps, he checks the closet for Chuck Norris. I saw these responses on Facebook status updates and MySpace headlines. People made jokes, and I laughed. But the truth is, Internet, I don’t know WHY this is fun or funny. Is it because I didn’t watch Walker, Texas Ranger? Or is it something deeper than that?  Is it just plain ridiculousness that I just don’t seem to get?  Tell me, Internet.

Now that this whole Chuck Norris business seems to be behind us, I have a new thing I don’t get the humor of: the Snuggie. The Slanket. What’s so funny, Internet? A pub crawl of people all in Snuggies? Twitter blowing up with people cracking jokes at the Snuggie’s expense? People mocking the free book light? Why is this funny? Because I’ll be honest with you: there is one reason and one reason only that I don’t own a Snuggie or a Slanket, and that is because I don’t think I’D EVER TAKE IT OFF. I doubt that my principal would be OK with me teaching in my Snuggie, though it is quite conservative and completely covers all essential areas for modesty. A blanket PLUS a robe that keeps me warm and allows for movement? Please show me the humor in a near perfect item of clothing.

I was, however, delighted that Oprah featured the Snuggie on her show today. Perhaps now it will get the respect that it deserves, instead of the incessant mocking it was receiving. One small step for man, one big step for the Snuggie.

And oh my god, oh my god, oh my god, maybe I can start thinking I understand funny things again, if the Snuggie finally earns legitimate respect.

Leave a comment

Filed under things i worry about

Leave a Reply

